Being a prefect and my stories
This immediately flew to my mind. I couldn't help it. I had to make this story.
So basically, I'm currently a prefect for my school for now. So I'm a prefect for my school right now, though I'm quitting next week.
NOTE: THIS STORY IS JUST MY OPINION
So, when I was in grade 1, 1 was offered a prefect job. 1 was like OH MY GAAHHDDD SLLLAAAYY GORLLL and started violently dancing. Damn. I remember having something like a rehearsal in grade 1 where I got to take care of my class which was slay AF! We never got pressured to be like the model student and we never went into any stressful meetings, we mostly just yelled at people and got to eat early and yell at the class you're in charge of with your partner which is your classmate and not a complete stranger. I loved the job so much and it was so fun!
Fast forward to grade 2: I only got to be a prefect for a little while then my school stopped the prefect thing for whatever reason.
Fast forward to grade 3: I was crying because, let me explain: in grade 1 and 2, we get to be the slay afternoon session kids. In grade 3-6, we had to be the horrible morning session kids. So I was a morning session kid. Also the youngest grade in the morning session, so I couldn't be a prefect. AND YOU KNOW WHAT I GOTTA SAY ABOUT THAT? MAH SCHOOL SHOULD'VE GIVEN ME THE PREFECT ROLE FOR LONGER BEFORE I WENT INTO MY OVERTHINKING PHASE AND DIDN'T LIKE BEING A PREFECT ANYMORE AND WAS SCARED TO DEATH OF MY PARTNER BECAUSE SHE WAS OLDER THAN ME AND I DIDN'T KNOW HER AND-AHHHHHHHHHHH! SO YOU KNOW WHAT, SCHOOL? SUCK MY DEEZ N-
Fast forward to grade 4: I got picked as a prefect again and I really wanted to quit because it was stressful and my teacher of my worst subject was in charge of the prefects. But he was a slay teacher and I miss him so much. So I was in charge of another grade 4 class and because we were the same age, they weren't scared of me and instead I was scared of them because they were a pack of wild rabid kids except for those nice gorls who were so nice to me. The first time I went into the class (Let's call it Human Class, HC for short), my partner was this grade 5 girl who used to be in my tuition center and my kindergarten and in kindergarten she always made fun of how I had no teeth. She was so scary even I was scared of her. She took charge and yelled at everyone and stuff while I just walked around and ocasionally snapped at people to wake up. Then for a few weeks, I didn't have to be a prefect. Then the teachers held a meeting with us. They were all like, "These few months will be the trial months. If you feel like it doesn't suit you or if we don't think you're the right person for the job, your job will be yeet. ALSO WE'RE EVIL AND EXPECT YOU TO BE THE BEST :)" and I was like "WHAT THE FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF-F-F-Fu-u-u-udge-" Then I started taking care of HC during the assemblies. I wasn't good at my job (until the last week I was being a prefect, during which I did as flawlessly as I could even though I was yelling and being bossy so much, I felt so bad seeing the hurt looks on their faces and the complaints they always snapped to each other, thinking I didn't hear) and always let things slide. One time I walked in class and they were all laying on the floor. Once it was during recess and since we ate in class, HC got free access to their flutes they had brought for music class! Yay!! Also, most of the time, their homeroom teacher aka another teacher in charge of prefects who was also a discipline teacher, would sit in the class and I would be so pressured to show my best that most of the time I was just standing and nervously staring. And one time a cat ran into the class and everyone was yelling and my homeroom teacher came in and saved the day and HC spent the rest of recess talking about cat poop and the class monitor greatly contributed. And who could forget that one time one of them found a book that was supposed to be about puberty but was really inappropriate and had inappropriate images in it and stuff like that (It had images of the deez nuts, women's chest area and so on. It was also from the school library. WHO BROUGHT THAT BOOK THERE???) They were arguing over who would get to read the book and snatching the book away. I remember I was like, "WAIT FOR YOUR TURN OR DON'T READ IT AT ALL!" No one listened so I tried another approach: "JUST SHARE THE BOOK!" One guy straight up stared me in the face and said, "n o." I was like, 'WHAT THE FACK, WHAT NO?! THIS BOOK IS ALREADY VERY PERVERTISH AND I'M STILL LETTING YOU READ IT, IS THAT NOT GOOD ENOUGH, YOU SON OF A DOG?' in my head. Another time, the prefects had to go on stage to give the teacher gifts during Teachers' Day. I was supposed to give it to a teacher, but I thought the one next to me had given a gift to her already, so I gave it to the teacher next to her. It was a disaster. But finally, I QUIT! I remember the last week I was a prefect, when we had an assembly where we watched videos about bullying and stuff. During that, I was determined to try my best to take charge since I knew it was my last week (more on that later). I yelled at everyone, and I'd say I did it pretty well. Until the end, when I was getting frustrated because this guy (let's call him Jayden) wouldn't listen, so my tongue slipped and I snapped at him, "SHUT UP." His expression changed and I felt so good AAHHAAH. I also remember that Friday, the last day I was a prefect. I was getting mad again and I snapped at this guy, "SIT BACK TO YOUR SEAT OR ELSE!" The look on his face....pure shock and anger. It also made me so happy AHHAHAHAAA. Then during recess, I saw a bunch of girls (I quite fancied them because they spoke English frequently (Yes, I speak in another language, but I translate all dialogues into English. But yes, I am much more fluent in English because that's the language I learnt in kindergarten. Speaking of which, 3 of my kindergarten friends were in HC. They forgot me >:0) like me) playing with a laser pen. I told them to keep it in their bag. One of them told me, "We need it for a Science project later.", and so I said, "Then wait until you need to use it . Don't play with it first." They got mad (WHYYYYGUKFHGUIYGIYWBFGUYKBF WHATS WRONG WITH MY STATEMENT?!??!) and I heard them mumbling, "It's just a light!" AS IF I DIDN'T KNOW THAT! Also, a week before, the teacher in charge of prefects gave us a form our parents had to fill out. It was whether they wanted me to continue. They knew my troubles and agreed to let me quit. So I did! Yay!
Lots of people have asked me why I quit. Mostly I said it was because I never got to eat enough (prefects got to eat early. My math teacher didn't think so. "I dismiss you, not the bell.") , or that my parents said no. But I feel like that's not the real reason. People think quitting was an easy decision for me, because I gave such casual reasons. But my real reasons are deeper. It was because I was being stressed and pressured to be the perfect kid, to be brave and perfect at everything, to be a robot and not to have any feelings. To not feel bad when I saw people looking upset. To not pity them for being controlled too much and being restrained from having fun. To be strong and run up to stop every fight. To be under the teachers' thumb the whole time. To be smart and get things done the first try. I couldn't do a single one. The job just didn't suit me. I don't know why I thought it was fun when I was in grade 2, I think it was because I was younger and more bold and naïve. But really, I don't regret that decision one bit.
Not one bit.
*PUBLISHED*
FROM THE DESK OF CHEEZ
Comments
Post a Comment